Jerzy Zoń

Jerzy Zoń

Co-founder, artistic and managing director of the KTO Theatre (since 1978).

Founder, artistic and managing director of the ULICA (STREET) International Street Theatre Festival in Krakow (since 1987).

Between 1974 and 1980, he was an actor at the STU Theatre, playing in the legendary productions of Krzysztof Jasinski, including Sennik polski, Exodus, Pacjenci and Operetka.
From 1988 to 1992, the managing and artistic director of the C. K. Norwid Theatre in Jelenia Góra, where he directed, among others, V. Yerofeyev’s Walpurgis Night, I. Krasicki’s Monachomachia and B. Rudnicki’s Kontedans.

Zoń is the creator of the characteristic non-verbal theatre language which became the trademark of the KTO Theatre and the source of its international successes. Screenwriter, director and producer of grand outdoor shows and international theatre projects. Creator of several dozen stage performances, including Paradis, The Mirror, The Edifice, I’ll Sell the House in Which I Can Live No More, Chorus of Orphans and some of the most emblematic street performances in Polish theatre, such as The Tower of Babel, The Fragrance of Time, The Blind and Peregrinus which have been shown over 800 times during festivals around the world.

Among his most important and at the same time the largest open-air productions in Poland are Cantata – the Millenium New Year Eve (broadcasted by the BBC to more than 120 countries), Hello Mr. Jo for the French theatre Jo Bithume (15,000 spectators), Nowy Targ (a show to celebrate the 650th anniversary of the town’s foundation, 10,000 spectators), Vivat Academia (the 600th anniversary of the renewal of the Krakow Academy, 8,000 spectators), Biało-Czerwona (the 100th anniversary of Poland’s independence, 2,500 spectators) and Nowa Huta (the 60th anniversary of Nowa Huta, 1,800 spectators).

In 2018, Jerzy Zoń received the Nagroda Teatralna im. Stanisława Wyspiańskiego, a theatre award established and awarded by the Kraków city council for special theatrical achievements. He was awarded, amongst others, the Silver Cross of Merit and the Medal for Merit to Culture – Gloria Artis.

Scroll Up